Seminars
Publications
Press Releases
Arabic Press
BBC
English Press
Useful Links
What is Halal / Haram
Legal Implication
Basic Requirements
History Of Religious Slaughter
Stunning
Muslim Market
Juristic Views
Halal / Haram Ingredients
Halal Basic Requirements
Muslims Shoppers Guidance
Muslim Traders Guidance
Halal Businesses
Guidance for Traders
Training Courses
Traders
Domestic
Meat Hygiene & Safety
Meat Crimes in UK
About BSE
Food Standards Agency
DEFRA
At Work
At Home
Training Courses
HIV-AIDS Leaflet

 

            

HALAL / HARAM INGREDIENTS

Some of the Emulsifiers found in canned and packaged food are sometimes made from an unlawful (haram) source(s). The following is a list of the codes and a brief description of the Haram emulsifiers (starting with the 'E' prefix) that should be avoided:

Code

Description

E120
Cochineal. Fatty acids and egg yolks of dried female insect Dactilopius coccus & 10% of carminic acid.
E140
Fatty acids and phosphates
E141
Fatty acids
E252
Waste animal and vegetable material
E422
Fatty acids, by-products in the manufacturing of soaps
E430
Fatty acids molecules
E431
Fatty acids
E470
Sodium, potassium and calcium of slats of fatty acids
E471
Glycerine and fatty acids
E472(a)
Acetic acid esters of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(b)
Lactic acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(c.)
Citric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(d)
Tartaric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(e)
Mono-diaceryltartaric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E473
Sucrose esters of fatty acids
E474
Lard (pig fat), tallow (hard animals fat), palm-oil and etc
E475
Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
E477
Proplylene glycol esters of fatty acids
E478
Lactylated acid esters of glycerol and propene 1, 2 diol
E481
Sodium Stearoyl-2 lactylate
E482
Calcium Steasroyl-2 lactylate
E483
Stearyl Tartarate
E491
Sorbitan monostearate
E492
Sorbitan tristearate (span 65)
E494
Sorbitan mono oleate (span 80)

The following without 'E'
prefixes are also Haram:

 
476
Polyglycerol esters of polycondensed acids of castor oil
542
Edible bone phosphates
570
Steearic acid
572
Magnesium stearate
631
Meat extracts, dried sardines and sodium 5-insosinate

Others to note as Haram too:

120, 141, 160(A), 161, 252, 300, 301, 433, 435, 422, 430, 431, 471, 472(a.e), 436, 441, 470, 476, 477, 473, 474, 475, 491, 492, 481, 482, 483, 570, 572, 494, 542